What is Happening to the GAC Building
What is going on at the GAC?
Historic Preservation work is underway at the GAC! The current exterior preservation project includes the repair and repainting of the historic exterior trim, repointing of the historic mortar around the exterior stone, as well as the repair of the one historic stucco exterior wall. This is the second phase in a 5 phase preservation plan to keep this historic gem standing for many years to come. The first phase was completed in the summer of 2018 when the roof was repaired. The State Historic Preservation fund at History Colorado has supported the current project with a $196,369 grant to the GAC.
A Little History
The historically designated Gunnison Hardware building (Colorado State Registry), aka the Gunnison Arts Center (GAC) was built in 1882. This two-story, cut sandstone building is the finest architectural example of the era of permanence for the then-fledgling community of Gunnison. This and several other cut-sandstone buildings throughout the city represent history’s transition from mining supply camp to permanent settlement. Stonemasons Fred Zugelder and his brother Frank were responsible for most of these structures, leaving their distinct signatures in the quoin, sill and lintel carvings. Besides building the GAC, Fred further distinguished himself as the quarry master at the Aberdeen Granite Quarry west of town from which the stone for the state capital was quarried and transported by rail to Denver. In the late 1800s there were 4 or 5 sandstone outcroppings around Gunnison that provided stone for these buildings.